UNLV Law Blog

UNLVLaw Admissions | Academics | Centers and Programs | Faculty | Careers | Library

UNLV Law Blog

An online community for collaboration on legal policy, practice and academics

Monday, February 2, 2015

Boyd Student, Alumnus Win 2014 Shannon Bybee Scholarship Award

On Jan. 30, the International Association of Gaming Advisors (IAGA) announced that Boyd School of Law student Kerry Kleiman and alumnus Michael Roeseler '14 received the 2014 Shannon Bybee Scholarship Award.

The annual scholarship program recognizes the best scholarly research papers written by law students. Submissions are solicited from law students around the world and judged by a committee of IAGA members who practice gaming law. To be considered, submissions must enhance the understanding of gaming law or suggest a beneficial change to gaming law.

Kleiman won for her paper titled, “Keeping Casinos Clean: The Problem with Dirty Money and International Differences in Anti-Money Laundering Regulations for Casinos.” Roeseler won for his paper titled, “Taxing Gambling.”

Papers are evaluated on the quality of presentation, quality of footnoting, depth of research, novelty or importance of the subject matter, value to gaming law practitioners or gaming control officials, and value to the study of gaming law.

Past Shannon Bybee Scholarship Award winners from Boyd include Justin Allsop '14; Rick Benito '12; Michael Lafia '12; Miriam Meyer-Thompson '14; John Piro '10; Charles C. Rainey '07; Jaime E. Serrano, Jr. '12; and Evan Simonsen '14.

The Shannon Bybee Scholarship Award was established to honor the memory of Shannon Bybee, one of IAGA’s founders who had a distinguished gaming career as a gaming attorney, Nevada regulator, industry executive, and pioneer in the field of education in casino operations and gaming law.